Who Me Raving About Technical Documentation ?

For the second time in my life I’ve had to install, setup and re-learn Tortoise SVN, the interface to the Subversion version control system for code. Have you ever met an end user who RAVES about a Help file? Well now you have, sort of anyway.

If you write technical documentation for software that is complex but needs to be accessible by the common end user, I highly recommend downloading Tortoise and looking at the Help file.

Here are their manuals too.

I love how extensive their local help is. Much software now seems to annoyingly depend on online help, assuming we’re online all the time.

Kudos to the Tortoise open source contributors. I’m sure my developers thank you as well for your  guidance and my not having to bug them so much.

Leave a Reply

